Parliament to terminate 51 opposition MPs mandates
Parliament to terminate 51 opposition MPs mandates

The Georgian Parliament of 10th Convocation will discuss the fifty-one members’ requests to terminate their parliamentary mandates obtained at the 2020 elections on Tuesday.

Fifty-one opposition MPs refused to enter the Parliament as they believe elections were a fraud.

Earlier, Parliament terminated the parliamentary authority for the Alliance of Patriots members Irma Inashvili, Giorgi Lomia, and Gocha Tevdoradze. However, the party’s electoral list members Pridon Injia, Gela Mikadze, and Davit Zilpimiani, decided to take up those seats.

On top of that, the Parliament plans to discuss amendments to the regulation in the coming days suggesting certain powers for opposition non-faction MPs. According to the amendments, the opposition deputies will be admitted to political debates and bill discussions.

Leave comment