Speaker: Georgia adheres to declared policy on sanctions 
Speaker: Georgia adheres to declared policy on sanctions 

“Georgia adheres to the policy, which was declared a long time ago on the imposition of sanctions against Russia,” said Georgian Parliament Speaker Shalva Papuashvili.

According to the Speaker, this policy brought stability to the country. Shalva Papuashvili responded to the question of Georgia’s not joining the Magnitsky List’s extension.

“You know Georgia’s stance over sanctions and the list of sanctions does extend to Russia. It concerns several countries and Georgia joined the issues on North Korea and Transdnestr. We have declared our policy over sanctions on Russia and we follow this policy, which brought stability ensuring our development, and candidate status to our country,” he said.

Georgian Ministry of Foreign Affairs said that Georgia chose to maintain the practice of recent years regarding the Magnitsky List, and that partner states were informed about the decision.

EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security, Josep Borrell, announced that the European Council extended the Magnitsky List until December 8, 2026. EU candidate countries North Macedonia, Montenegro, Albania, Ukraine, Moldova and Bosnia and Herzegovina joined the list but Georgia did not.