Georgian Parliament fails to impeach President
Georgian Parliament fails to impeach President

The Georgian parliament held a vote to impeach President Salome Zourabichvili but failed to collect the necessary votes needed to impeach her.

In the vote, 90 lawmakers registered to vote, with 86 in favour and one against. The parliament needed the support of 100 MPs to pass the impeachment.

One part of the opposition MPs, the United National Movement (UNM) party among them, boycotted the plenary sitting and did not participate in the impeachment vote.

Chairman of the ruling Georgian Dream (GD) party, Irakli Kobakhidze, delivered a speech as the rapporteur and said the President “grossly violated the Constitution.”

President also took the floor but refused to answer questions from lawmakers following her impeachment procedure speech in the Parliament.

The Georgian Parliament discussed President Salome Zourabichvili’s impeachment on October 18, after the Constitutional Court on October 16 ruled that the President violated the Constitution when travelling abroad for meetings with EU leadership without the government’s authorisation.