Speaker Papuashvili: Germany plays special role in Georgia's progress on EU integration path
Speaker Papuashvili: Germany plays special role in Georgia's progress on EU integration path

Georgian Parliament Speaker, Shalva Papuashvili, on Wednesday, said “Germany plays a special and important role in the progress of Georgia on the EU integration path.”

In his speech at the event dedicated to the 30th anniversary of Georgia-Germany diplomatic relations, the Speaker noted that “the German Chancellor’s words that unified Europe means Europe from Lisbon to Tbilisi manifests the clarity of Germany vision on the full-fledged EU membership of Georgia.”

He believes “it is a very important message for Georgia, though the significant decisions are still to be made and we truly count on Germany in this process.”

The Speaker highlighted Germany’s special role in Georgia’s EU integration path and thanked the host country for the genuine aid that Germany provides to Georgia for years.

“Germany has been standing by our side for years as a selfless and genuine friend in the process of our democratic and institutional development. The merit of the German people is indeed immense in our education sphere, contributed by means of the introduction of modern concepts of education and allowing Georgian students to study in Germany.

The extreme value of this opportunity is even further emphasized by the fact that all members of the Georgian Parliamentary Delegation present at the event today, including the Majority and Opposition MPs have obtained higher education in Germany.

I am extremely proud to see our famous artists – Nino Kharatishvili, Liza Batiashvili and Dudana Mazmanishvili as the central figures of this evening; they already are part of the Georgian, as well as the German culture,” the Speaker highlighted.

The Parliamentary Delegation, headed by the Speaker serves the visit to Germany and holds bilateral meetings with high politicians in Berlin.

The Delegation is composed of MPs Nikoloz Samkharadze, Anri Okhanashvili, Levan Kobiashvili, Nino Iobashvili, Irakli Shatakishvili and Khatuna Samnidze.