Parliamentary majority abstains opposition mandate revocation
Parliamentary majority abstains opposition mandate revocation

The parliamentary majority abstained from revoking the mandates of opposition MPs. Most of the opposition parties, who secured their seats through the October 31 parliamentary election, applied for authority termination in a boycott of the election results.

Irakli Kobakhidze, Chairman of the Georgian Dream party, stated after the parliamentary majority meeting at the Georgian Dream HQ that the radical opposition uses procedural tools to carry out the sabotage of the legislature in an attempt to undermine democracy.

GD Chair explained that up to 20 opposition MPs want to enter the parliament but fail to take up their seats following blackmail and bullying.

According to Kobakhidze, the ruling team gave the opposition MPs another opportunity to respect their voters’ will, who want to see their favorite parties engaged in the parliament work.

The Parliament of Georgia is to vote on terminating the mandates of 51 opposition MPs at the first spring plenary session today.

Fifty-one opposition MPs refused to take up their seats as they believe elections were a fraud. Earlier, parliament terminated the parliamentary authority for the Alliance of Patriots members Irma Inashvili, Giorgi Lomia, and Gocha Tevdoradze. However, other members on the party list, Fridon Injia, Gela Mikadze, and Davit Zilpimiani, took up those seats by replacement.