EU Permanent Representative to OSCE read statement, joined by Georgia
EU Permanent Representative to OSCE read statement, joined by Georgia

Rasa Ostrauakaite, the EU Permanent Representative to the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE), read the statement, noting that the following participating states have aligned themselves with the statement of the European Union: North Macedonia, Montenegro, Albania, Ukraine, Moldova, Georgia, Iceland, and San Marino.

“We strongly condemn the ongoing blatant violations by the Russian Federation of the international law and OSCE principles and commitments, which also impede the regular work of your organization. We, once again, call on Russia to immediately stop its war of aggression against Ukraine and completely and unconditionally withdraw all its forces and military equipment from the entire territory of Ukraine within its internationally recognized borders.

By launching its war of aggression against Ukraine, Russia violated principles and commitments on which European security is built as inshrined in the Helsinki Final Act, the Paris Charter and underpinned in the UN Charter, refraining from the use of force, respect for sovereignty, territorial integrity, inviolability of borders and protecting human rights and fundamental freedoms. Although, Russia has been trying to subvert them for years, including in Georgia in 2008 and in Ukraine, at least since 2014. These principles are neither negotiated nor subject to revision.

The EU reiterates its firm support to the independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity of Georgia and Moldova within the international recognized borders.

The European Union will continue to work closely with Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova and Georgia and support the reform efforts on the European paths,” the statement notes.