EU recognizes Georgia-issued Covid-certificate 
EU recognizes Georgia-issued Covid-certificate 

The European Union (EU) has recognized the Covid-certificate issued in Georgia at the Eastern Partnership Ministerial meeting in Brussels, the Georgian government announced on Monday.

“Today, the Commission adopted four decisions certifying that COVID-19 certificates issued by Georgia, Moldova, New Zealand and Serbia are equivalent to the EU Digital COVID Certificate. As a result, the four countries will be connected to the EU’s system and their COVID certificates will be accepted under the same conditions as the EU Digital COVID Certificate.  At the same time, the four countries agreed to accept the EU Digital COVID Certificate for travel from the EU to their countries,” European Commission noted in a statement.

Commissioner for Neighbourhood and Enlargement, OlivérVárhelyi said: “Just as we have stood by our partners in the fight against the pandemic, we continue to work together to open up safely. We bring good news ahead of the Eastern Partnership Ministerial meeting. Today, I welcome that Georgia, Moldova as well as Serbia have joined our Digital COVID Certificate system and I look forward to more of our neighbours connecting as soon as possible.”

The four Commission decisions adopted today will enter into force as of 16 November 2021.

Leave comment